Fluffy Scrambled Eggs and a Breakfast Admonishment

It is a statement we have all heard before: Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. It nourishes our minds for the day ahead and it gives you energy to slog through the school, work or even at home day. You know that 10 am slump that has you reaching for the coffee? It can be staved off in some small part by a really great breakfast. Every morning I feed my sweet little monsters a two-part hearty breakfast before sending them off to school. We have a system that makes it easy for me and nutritious for them.

If you were to pay attention to the advertisements on television you would know that the greatest thing in the world being pushed on our children are Pop-tarts and Toaster Streudels. Did you know there are 190 calories in a Pillsbury Toaster Streudel and while there are only 9 grams of sugar in each one the level of nutrients are so low that it is not worth it to eat even one. An average child of 4 to 8, so at 5 my daughter Miss N requires around 1600 calories a day and if you know anything about making each calorie count you will know that it adds up pretty quickly when you have 1600 with which to work. I am not a stickler for calories. I do believe it to be unhealthy to obsess over every morsel and its associated caloric count. This was the major problem with Weight Watchers points program before the much lauded revamp. You could eat 18 pounds of licorice throughout the day to cover your points but you end up severely malnourished. Instead, my general rule is that if it has high nutritional benefit (fibre/calcium/iron in some abundance) then it’s a safe bet if eaten in moderation. If I can combine the foods in a meal to increase the benefits and help them play off of each other, we are all better off.

I think it should be obvious that I have a sweet tooth, every healthy meal on this blog is sandwiched between recipes for cookies, muffins and cupcakes. The truth of the matter is, my sweet tooth is a huge problem for me but I do have a few tricks for dealing with it. I don’t eat sugar anytime before the afternoon because if I do I cannot stop the craving for just something “a little sweet”. I could not possibly eat one of those processed breakfast alternatives because I would drive myself crazy all day and I am leery of most processed foods for my children.

A common breakfast for the kids consists of scrambled eggs with a bowl of cereal or yogurt and a glass of milk of fresh apple cider. For a touch of sweetness Miss N like dried cranberries on her cereal and Bubs will take raisins any day. Ask them to switch and it’s trouble!

The recipe is pretty basic but I do think it’s important to remember that we all had to start somewhere.

Extra Fluffy Scrambled Eggs
This is the recipe I use for my children, a 3 year old and a 5 year old. It is endlessly adaptable but perfect on its own for a rushed morning.

2 teaspoons of goat butter or vegan margarine*
3 eggs

1.In a medium sauce pan heat the butter on medium until it foams. Crack the eggs directly into the pan.
2.Allow the whites of the egg to actually turn white before you touch them. At this point, use a regular fork to “whip” the eggs quickly but safely. Cook until all of the liquid disappears.

*The cost of goat butter can be prohibitive and vegan margarine is a great alternative for us. The flavour is quite neutral and we are most fond of Earth Balance (whipped, butter flavour).

3 thoughts on “Fluffy Scrambled Eggs and a Breakfast Admonishment

  1. elisabeth@foodandthriftfinds says:

    You are so right about the extra sugar consumed for breakfast that is so bad for the children. Pop tarts are the worst kind to give your child. Empty calories, too much sugar, is so bad, not just for children, but for adults, as well. They also consume food in the morning that has zero nutrition value. They are the ones to blame for the bad eating habits
    their children have aquired! BTW-Your fluffy scrambled eggs, is so yummy, and satisfying!

  2. Chef Dennis says:

    goat butter sounds so good….I admit I have seen it but been a little afraid to buy it! I’ll have to give it a try. I know what you mean about every thing sweet, and the last thing we need is a sugar crash at 10 am.
    I love a bowl of oatmeal myself, but don’t always take the time to make it…if its just for me it doesn’t get priority.
    thanks for sharing your egg technique!
    Dennis

  3. MerryMakes says:

    @Joy – I like that you supplement the cereal with something more substantial. The extra protein from the scrambled eggs will keep them going that little bit longer.

    @Chef Dennis – I don’t have time to make hot oatmeal every morning but it’s just as tasty to mix it up with yogurt and a little fruit juice, with a handful of nuts or raisins. Just mix together and it’s ready to eat. I’ve tried preparing it the night before and popping it in the fridge but the oatmeal flakes get just a little bit too soggy for my liking 🙂 Best done when you need it.

Leave a Reply

