Apple Cinnamon Muffins

This morning I woke with the full intention of working out and then baking a batch of muffins. Unfortunately, I made the mistake of pressing the snooze button a couple of times and by the time I wandered downstairs, bleary eyed and chilled from leaving the comfort of my bed there was only time to bake the muffins. The word I am struggling to commit to that act is “priorities”.

Apples and Muffins

This weekend at the farmer’s market we were fortunate enough to find some sweet, unpasteurized apple cider at The Hutten Family Farm stand in addition to the biggest apples I have ever seen. The round globes of apple-y goodness are definitely oversized making them perfect to share with a friend or for some very tasty apples. I needed only two apples for the batch of 16 muffins but if you can only get your paws on some regular apples, use four to five instead. I am quite pleased with the amount of whole wheat flour in this batch as it doesn’t weigh it down and it also adds just a touch of extra nuttiness to the overall flavour. I’m a big fan of whole wheat flour because of the health benefits; it may not be the powerhouse of other flours but it certainly can hold its own. The key is to always look for a flour that contains the germ since that is the precious little bit of the wheat that holds the nutrition. There is also a sprinkling of ground flax seeds on top of the muffins, added prior to baking.

Apple Flax

The shear amount of apple chunks has transformed these muffins into clumps of apple bits loosely held together by muffin batter. This is the best way to have an apple muffin. When Mr. and I were baking on a regular basis for the Halifax Farmer’s Market we had the most amazing “Apple Breakfast Cakes” which were fortified by at least an apple in each muffin. A hint of cinnamon makes these little treats divine.

I must admit that when I went to bed last night I had apple muffins on my mind because of Kristen at Frugal Antics of a Harried Homemaker and her delicious looking Apple Streusel Muffins.

The Muffins

Adapted from the Laura Secord Canadian Cookbook, Versatile Muffins.

one cup all-purpose flour

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

3 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1 cup apple cider

1 egg

1/4 cup milk

1/4 cup vegetable oil

2 large apples, peeled and diced (or 4-5 apples)

1. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.

2. In a two cup liquid measuring cup (or a separate bowl) whisk with a fork the wet ingredients, excluding the apples. Pour into the dry mix and stir to incorporate.

3. Fold in the apple chunks.

4. Spoon into muffin tins and sprinkle with ground flax seeds, approximately a teaspoon on each muffin. Bake for 20-25 minutes. I always check at the 20 minute mark and then judge from there. Keep in mind these are quite moist because of the apples and the cider. Feel free to tear one in half if you feel unsure about whether or not it is done.

Enjoy.

9 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Muffins

  1. Monet says:

    I just adore apple muffins…and I like them just the way you made them. Don’t you love visiting the market and finding great ingredients to make even more delicious baked goods? Thank you for sharing, my friend. Your site looks beautiful!

  2. denise @ bread expectations says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and for your warm words 🙂 Your site is so elegant and your photography really rocks!

    I’ve never had an apple muffin but with the cinnamon, flax seeds and each muffin bursting with apple, I know I would love these!

  3. Stephanie says:

    I tend to choose things like baking over working out too. Priorities are hard 🙂

    These muffins sound great and I love that you used whole wheat flour and it enhanced them. Sometimes it doesn’t work with baked goods, but I’d so rather use a healthier flour.

  4. Paules says:

    We really ought to be neighbours, we have such similar tastebuds :D. Oooh your apple & cinnamon muffins look gorgeous. Like the whole flour & a wee drop of apple cider . . gorgeous touch. I’m going to enjoy popping into yours 🙂
    I often make little cakes from my Mum’s old recipes, I often add chunks of apples, cinnamon, raspberries etc etc. Apples are so wonderfully versatile & compliment most flavours in some way. I’ve never made MUFFINS!! I clearly must. Please, what is the main difference, is the muffin recipe more wet than the usual cake ? ie the oil & then maybe a little more whisked? I must try to make them instead of my usual old bores 😉

    Love your blog ..

  5. kavita says:

    Thanks for peeping into my blog and for your Kind comments :)These muffins look so perfect & yummy.Loved the sprinkling of flax seeds and the use of whole wheat flour,I am always looking for ways to make food healthy without compromising on the taste quotinet:)Cheers!!!

Leave a Reply

