An Improvised Lunch: Sweet Pea Hummus

>

Today’s lunch, like most days, is a simple affair. We have an eclectic mix of ingredients which meant a fair amount of improvising. Hummus (or something akin to hummus) is perfect for the mix kicking our in the fridge so we ended up with a sweet pea hummus that was flavourful, a little unexpected and a perfect dip for roasted garlic spaghetti squash fritters. Extra carrot sticks and broccoli florets rounded out a lunch my little people will always eat. When in doubt, give kids dip worthy foods. They’ll love you for it.

Sweet Pea Hummus
one can of chickpeas
1/4 cup peas
garlic
one tablespoon dijon mustard
2 tsp. liquid honey
one tablespoon white miso paste
salt
white pepper
3 tbsp olive oil
1.5 tbsp apple cider vinegar
soy milk
1. Mix all ingredients together. As always, the spices are listed as to your taste. After you add the liquids (pretty well in equal parts to be able to blend/bind) throw in a dash of sugar to cut the acidity of the apple cider vinegar. Blend until smooth.
I like to make my hummus before cutting up the veggies so that the flavours of the hummus can bloom and mix.
10 thoughts on “An Improvised Lunch: Sweet Pea Hummus

  1. Monet says:

    >Wow, your hummus and lunch looks beautiful. What a wonderful idea to add the peas. I love hummus, eat it almost day, and I'm excited to try this recipe. Your blog is great, and I look forward to reading more of your posts!

  2. Ms. WhitePlates says:

    >Chef: It is my pleasure! Hummus is the perfect palate for a lot of flavour combinations. My husband made is happy growly noise and disappeared with the bowl and some carrot sticks when he first got home .. I think it was a success!

  3. islandeat says:

    >I am always on the prowl for an innovative take on hummous. Good interpretation, what with peas and miso – very clever! I am glad I have found your blog, and thank you for stopping by mine, too.

  4. Heather says:

    I can’t wait until I can get Chelsea to eat hummus! Like most things, she bucks the trend…I can’t get her to dip anything 🙂 Momma can though, and I will! I like adding the peas, it’s such a pretty colour.

    • Ms. Joy says:

      Thanks! The peas are great too because they add such a subtle sweetness. My kids are prolific dippers! Just keep trying, suddenly she’ll be eating all the hummus and leaving you with dry broccoli to eat. We started eating in the summer when we could eat it on the deck or at picnics.

Leave a Reply

