>A Beautiful Market Day

> My hubby and little girl are off in Toronto so the Little Boy and I headed off to the Saturday market to meet up with a couple of friends of mine. There was a marvellous crowd flowing through, listening to music, picking up herbs, nibbling on pakora and of course, picking up their weekly provisions.

I am (in true foodie fashion) ecstatic about the greens I bought this week.


In my excitement over the array of fresh greens I asked what the above plant was. Do you know? I do now …. Take a guess!
These beautiful beet greens with their lace work of succulent purple veins are headed for a lazy brunch tomorrow. One of my favourite dishes to make is creamed spinach*, I love the mix of cheese, eggs and lightly wilted greens. No worries, I plan on making this for breakfast tomorrow so the recipe will be up soon!
How lovely is this baby bok choi? I want to photograph, eat and pet the delicate leaves. The stems are curved together into a perfect harmony of fresh crispness.

*I often use more than just spinach in my creamed spinach recipes. In fact, spinach is a great base to start exploring with your greens. Beet greens pair beautifully with sweet spinach because they are slightly bitter and the spinach will tone down their bitter war cry.
4 thoughts on “>A Beautiful Market Day

Leave a Reply

